Greetings from Vermont, USA

New on the forum? Please, introduce yourself
Présentation des nouveaux inscrits sur le Forum
Brad Vietje

Greetings from Vermont, USA

Post by Brad Vietje »

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here, and a relative beginner to spectroscopy. At the moment, I am limited to low-resolution spectra with an SA-200 in the filter wheel of a fixed instrument, and an SA-100 in portable instruments with either a mono or color CMOS video cameras. I've been an amateur astronomer since the late 70's, a long-time amateur telescope maker (member at Stellafane for 30 years), and informal astronomy educator since the 80's. I used to own a Starlab portable planetarium, and did planetarium shows part-time for about 15 years.

I am privileged to have access to a very nice dark sky teaching observatory where I work part-time, featuring a Planewave CDK-17 on a fantastic custom mount from Astrometric Instruments (see photo). This telescope is outfitted with an Apogee Alta U16M camera, a 10-position filter wheel (Ha, SII, OIII, I, R, V, B, Blue, Luminance, and SA-200), a Monster MOAG guider, and the IRF-90 focuser/rotator. The observatory was built to serve the educational needs of teachers and students in the area; we work mostly with high school and middle school groups, but also serve as a remote lab for area colleges. Initially just pretty picture deep-sky photography, but more recently, variable star photometry, asteroid light curves, and of course, low-rez spectra.

I've been using RSpec for about 18 months, and plan to explore freeware options which would be more accessible to my students. So far, I've been able to get decent spectra of stars, a few planets, and a few supernovae. With image stacking I can get spectra down to about 14th magnitude, though brighter is a whole lot easier! I've images a few Be stars, and so far, Wolf-Rayet stars are my favorite.