Questions about wavelength calibration with wide slit

Design, construction, tuning of spectroscopes
Information and discussion about softwares (telescope remote, autoguiding, acquisition, spectral processing ...)
Jacques Montier

Questions about wavelength calibration with wide slit

Post by Jacques Montier »

Hello,

I am studying the Christian Buil absolute calibration tutorial (part 2)
http://www.astrosurf.com/buil/calibrati ... ion_en.htm
Two spectra (ref and target) have to be made with wide photometric slit (ie 230um).
So how can i run precise wavelength calibration with ISIS ?
ISIS needs the X coordinate of the 5852.49A line, smile informations (Y and radius).
Ne_Ar.png
Ne_Ar.png (169.9 KiB) Viewed 2762 times
So i tried this :
- precise wavelength calibration with narrow slit (23um) to get the dispersion polynom
- then i use the same polynom for calibrating the photometric spectra.
It seems to work, but i have to put some wavelength shift in the general parameters.
Is it the right way to go ?

Thank you for your advice and help,

Regards,
--
Jacques Montier
Societe d'Astronomie de Rennes
IAU code J23
Robin Leadbeater

Re: Questions about wavelength calibration with wide slit

Post by Robin Leadbeater »

Hello Jaques,